HEAD TO HEAD
Apiiro or Backslash Security: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Apiiro
Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage
Rank 7 of 10
Backslash Security
Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills
Rank 10 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Apiiro | Backslash Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 7 / 10 AI-SPM and AI-BOM discovery, positioned around risks across AI coding agents, IDE extensions and MCP servers. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 10 / 10 Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 5 / 10 Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment and pre-commit prevention; policy that blocks agent actions is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 9 / 10 Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 6 / 10 Secrets security is listed; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Apiiro |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 5 / 10 AutoFix is listed and free for open source maintainers; scope, where fixes land and validation are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 2 / 10 No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Apiiro |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 A Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code changes to runtime context, with AI threat modeling. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 3 / 10 A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Apiiro |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Software supply chain security, AI-BOM and secrets security; pipeline policy detail is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Apiiro |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 8 / 10 AI SAST and AI SCA plus 100+ tool integrations. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Apiiro |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Tie |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 2 / 10 No pricing is published. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 4 / 10 No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Apiiro | Backslash Security |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Pre-commit prevention. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented AI SAST, AI SCA and Deep Code Analysis that detects material code changes. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not documented Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Software supply chain security, AI-BOM discovery and secrets security. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Triage | Documented The Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code to runtime context. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not documented A prioritization method is not described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Fix | Partial AutoFix is listed; what it fixes and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not documented No agent that writes fixes is described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do they cost?
Apiiro
Not published No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers.
Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: No free commercial tier published.
Backslash Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Apiiro | Backslash Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Not named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Apiiro if you need agentic triage and prioritization and sdlc policy and supply chain posture. Apiiro: Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage.
Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Apiiro or Backslash Security?
On our published weights Apiiro scores higher overall, 6.30 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Apiiro or Backslash Security?
Backslash Security scores higher on the agent governance group (8.6 to 6.0). Apiiro: Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints.
Do Apiiro and Backslash Security publish prices?
Apiiro: Not published. No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers. Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.