PLATFORM PROFILE · RANK 4 OF 10
OX Security review: VibeSec guidance for coding agents before code exists
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
Rank 4 of 10 on our published weights
Security guidance to the agent before code is written
What does OX do for agentic AppSec?
An AppSec platform whose OX VibeSec sends security guidance to coding agents before they generate code, alongside OX Code, OX Cloud and OX Agentic Pentester.
Named agentic products: OX VibeSec, OX Agentic Pentester and OX Cloud (AI Detection and Response, Agentic Attack Surface Management).
Where along the pipeline does OX act?
Agent Documented
VibeSec analyzes the prompt and sends security guidance to the agent before code is generated, vets dependencies and keeps an AI inventory and agent activity log.
Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026
IDE Documented
VS Code extension and JetBrains plugin, plus MCP integration.
Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026
Pull request Documented
OX Code covers SAST, SCA, secrets, IaC, containers and APIs, with pipeline scanning.
Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Pipeline Documented
Software supply chain security, SBOM with drift detection, and Dependency Vetting for agent installs (9 September 2026).
Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026
Triage Documented
ASPM correlation plus an Agentic Pentester that ties exploitable issues back to code and APIs.
Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Fix Documented
AI-Powered Fixes deliver one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews.
Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026
How does OX score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 8 / 10 | VibeSec keeps an Agent AI BOM of MCP servers, external SaaS and AI models, with usage and users. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 8 / 10 | Allow or block specific MCP tools, SaaS integrations and models, with an Agent Activity Log of prompts and tool calls; an endpoint agent and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 7 / 10 | VibeSec lists secret protection; how secrets are kept from agents is not detailed on the pages reviewed. Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 6 / 10 | AI-Powered Fixes deliver context-aware one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews; validation of the fix is not stated. Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 8 / 10 | ASPM correlation plus an Agentic Pentester that ties exploitable issues back to code and APIs. Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 | Software supply chain security, SBOM with drift detection, secrets and PII detection, and dependency vetting for agent installs (9 Sep 2026). Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 8 / 10 | OX Code covers SAST, SCA, secrets, IaC, containers and API scanning with ASPM correlation across them. Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 7 / 10 | Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Kiro. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 6 / 10 | Free for up to 9 developer contributors under its Terms of Service; an AWS Marketplace list price is published ($100,000 for 12 months, all modules, 100 users); per-product pricing units are published, prices on its own site are not. Source: OX Security Terms of Service · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
Which coding agents does OX name?
- Claude CodeNamed
- CursorNamed
- GitHub CopilotNamed
- WindsurfNot named
- OpenAI CodexNot named
- KiroNamed
OX names 4 of the six agents we track.
What does it cost, and can you start free?
- Pricing
AWS Marketplace list price: OX Security Platform, All Modules, 100 users, $100,000 for 12 months. On its own site OX publishes pricing units (VibeSec per AI user, OX Code per contributing developer, OX Cloud per cloud asset, Agentic Pentester per agent hour) but not prices.
Source: AWS Marketplace: OX Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026
- Free start
- Free for up to 9 developer contributors under OX's Terms of Service (updated December 2025); 10 or more contributors need a subscription.
Where is OX strongest, and where does it fall short?
Strongest
- Acts before code exists, by sending security guidance to the agent based on the prompt.
- Dependency vetting at the moment an agent installs a package, with cool-down periods for new versions.
Falls short
- Agent and MCP discovery: 8 / 10; highest Legit Security and Backslash Security 10 / 10
- Agent policy enforcement and audit: 8 / 10; highest Backslash Security 9 / 10
- Secret handling for agents: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Agentic remediation: 6 / 10; highest Legit Security and GitHub Advanced Security 9 / 10
- Agentic triage and prioritization: 8 / 10; highest Legit Security, Apiiro and Endor Labs 10 / 10
- SDLC policy and supply chain posture: 8 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Scanner coverage and orchestration: 8 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Named coding agent reach: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security and Snyk 8 / 10
- Pricing and trial transparency: 6 / 10; highest GitHub Advanced Security 9 / 10
- Validation of AI fixes is not stated on the pages reviewed.
- Prices on its own site are not published; the published list price is an AWS Marketplace bundle.
Key facts
| VibeSec | Embeds security context into the AI coding workflow; supports Claude Code, Cursor, Kiro and VS Code with Copilot; analyzes the prompt and sends guidance to the agent before code is generated. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|
| VibeSec features | Malicious dependency blocking, secret protection, AI inventory and agent activity log; IDE extension (VS Code) and plugin (JetBrains); MCP integration. Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Dependency Vetting | Announced 9 September 2026: inspects each package install an AI agent attempts, blocks known-malicious packages and can apply cool-down periods to newly published packages. Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| OX Cloud | Launched 16 September 2026: cloud security coverage with AI Detection and Response and Agentic Attack Surface Management for agents in production. Source: OX Security blog: OX Cloud for AI agents · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| AI-Powered Fixes | Context-aware one-click fixes in CI/CD, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews. Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Free use | Up to 9 developer contributions under the Terms of Service; open-source projects free under fair use on request. Source: OX Security Terms of Service · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Agent AI BOM | Inventory of MCP servers, external SaaS and AI models with usage and users; allow or block specific MCP tools, SaaS integrations and models; Agent Activity Log of prompts and tool calls. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
How does OX compare head to head?
| Comparison | Result |
|---|---|
| Aikido Security or OX Security | OX Security 7.25, Aikido Security 5.75 |
| Apiiro or OX Security | OX Security 7.25, Apiiro 6.30 |
| Backslash Security or OX Security | OX Security 7.25, Backslash Security 4.90 |
| Cycode or OX Security | Cycode 7.70, OX Security 7.25 |
| Endor Labs or OX Security | Endor Labs 7.60, OX Security 7.25 |
| GitHub Advanced Security or OX Security | OX Security 7.25, GitHub Advanced Security 6.35 |
| Legit Security or OX Security | Legit Security 8.80, OX Security 7.25 |
| OX Security or Semgrep | OX Security 7.25, Semgrep 5.95 |
| OX Security or Snyk | OX Security 7.25, Snyk 7.15 |
| OX Security or Wiz Code | OX Security 7.25, Wiz Code 6.00 |
Frequently asked questions
How much does OX Security cost?
AWS Marketplace list price: OX Security Platform, All Modules, 100 users, $100,000 for 12 months. On its own site OX publishes pricing units (VibeSec per AI user, OX Code per contributing developer, OX Cloud per cloud asset, Agentic Pentester per agent hour) but not prices. Free for up to 9 developer contributors under OX's Terms of Service (updated December 2025); 10 or more contributors need a subscription.
Does OX Security control what coding agents do?
Yes. VibeSec analyzes the prompt and sends security guidance to the agent before code is generated, vets dependencies and keeps an AI inventory and agent activity log.
Does OX Security have an agent that writes fixes?
Yes. AI-Powered Fixes deliver one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews.