PLATFORM PROFILE · RANK 2 OF 10
Cycode review: Maestro AppSec agents and IDE guardrails for coding agents
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
Rank 2 of 10 on our published weights
Three named AppSec agents under Cycode Maestro
What does Cycode do for agentic AppSec?
An AppSec platform whose Maestro orchestration runs an AI Exploitability Agent, an AI Fix and Remediation Agent and a Change Impact Analysis Agent, with IDE guardrails for coding agents.
Named agentic products: Cycode Maestro with the AI Exploitability Agent, AI Fix and Remediation Agent and Change Impact Analysis Agent; IDE guardrails and AI-BOM.
Where along the pipeline does Cycode act?
Agent Documented
IDE guardrails intercept secrets, file context, prompts and tool calls before they reach AI services, with MCP enforcement; the AI-BOM tracks rule files, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance.
Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026
IDE Documented
AI Guardrails, launched 17 February 2026, intercept secrets in prompts, file reads and MCP tool calls before they leave the IDE.
Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026
Pull request Documented
Agentic code scanning across SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC.
Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Pipeline Documented
CI/CD pipeline posture, source code leakage detection, SBOM and AI-BOM.
Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Triage Documented
The AI Exploitability Agent checks whether a CVE is reachable.
Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Fix Documented
The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes.
Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026
How does Cycode score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 9 / 10 | The AI inventory and AIBOM cover code assistants (GitHub Copilot, Cursor, Tabnine), MCP servers, models and AI secrets, with a three-state authorization of Needs Review, Authorized or Unauthorized. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 8 / 10 | IDE hooks, starting with Cursor and Claude Code, enforce guardrails such as Block Unauthorized MCPs and Restrict MCP Execution to Localhost Only, with violations tracked; an endpoint agent and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 9 / 10 | IDE guardrails intercept secrets in prompts, file reads and MCP tool calls before they leave the IDE, and the AIBOM tracks AI secrets. Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 7 / 10 | The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes matched to the codebase's patterns; validation of the fix is not stated. Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 9 / 10 | The AI Exploitability Agent checks whether a CVE is reachable, under Cycode Maestro orchestration. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 9 / 10 | CI/CD pipeline posture, source code leakage detection, secrets, SBOM and AI-BOM. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 9 / 10 | Native SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC scanning plus 120+ connectors through ConnectorX. Source: Cycode pricing: 120+ connectors · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 7 / 10 | Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 3 / 10 | Tiers and the pricing basis (active developers and AI usage) are published; figures are not. Source: Cycode pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
Which coding agents does Cycode name?
- Claude CodeNamed
- CursorNamed
- GitHub CopilotNamed
- WindsurfNamed
- OpenAI CodexNot named
- KiroNot named
Cycode names 4 of the six agents we track.
- Cycode names Cursor, Copilot, Windsurf and Tabnine on its AI page; its 17 February 2026 AI Guardrails post says Claude Code was supported at launch.
- Other agents named by vendors: Tabnine (Cycode), Antigravity (Endor Labs, Snyk), Qodo (Snyk), Gemini CLI (Apiiro MCP server).
What does it cost, and can you start free?
- Pricing
Not published Tiers are named (ADLC Security, Code Security, Software Supply Chain Security, Posture Management, Cycode Complete, Cycode AI). "Pricing is based on your active developer count and AI usage"; no figures are published.
Source: Cycode pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Free start
- Free trial offered; no free tier.
Where is Cycode strongest, and where does it fall short?
Strongest
- Three named agents cover exploitability, fixes and change impact under one orchestration layer.
- Guardrails that intercept prompts, file context and tool calls, plus an AI-BOM with commit provenance.
Falls short
- Agent and MCP discovery: 9 / 10; highest Legit Security and Backslash Security 10 / 10
- Agent policy enforcement and audit: 8 / 10; highest Backslash Security 9 / 10
- Secret handling for agents: 9 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Agentic remediation: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security and GitHub Advanced Security 9 / 10
- Agentic triage and prioritization: 9 / 10; highest Legit Security, Apiiro and Endor Labs 10 / 10
- SDLC policy and supply chain posture: 9 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Scanner coverage and orchestration: 9 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Named coding agent reach: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security and Snyk 8 / 10
- Pricing and trial transparency: 3 / 10; highest GitHub Advanced Security 9 / 10
- No price figures published; pricing depends on developer count and AI usage.
- Validation of fixes is not stated on the pages reviewed.
Key facts
| Maestro | Orchestrates the AI Exploitability Agent (reachability), the AI Fix and Remediation Agent (PR-ready fixes) and the Change Impact Analysis Agent. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|
| Fix agent | Analyzes the root cause of a finding and proposes fixes that match the codebase's frameworks, coding patterns and naming conventions. Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| AI security | Detects Copilot, Cursor, Windsurf and Tabnine; the AI-BOM tracks .cursorrules, .windsurfrules, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance; MCP enforcement. Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| AI Guardrails | Launched 17 February 2026; Cursor and Claude Code supported at launch. Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Coverage | SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC scanning, CI/CD posture, source code leakage, SBOM and AI-BOM, an MCP server and 120+ connectors through ConnectorX. Source: Cycode pricing: 120+ connectors · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| AI governance | AIBOM covers code assistants, MCP servers, models and AI secrets with a three-state authorization; IDE hooks for Cursor and Claude Code block unauthorized MCPs and restrict MCP execution to localhost. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
How does Cycode compare head to head?
| Comparison | Result |
|---|---|
| Aikido Security or Cycode | Cycode 7.70, Aikido Security 5.75 |
| Apiiro or Cycode | Cycode 7.70, Apiiro 6.30 |
| Backslash Security or Cycode | Cycode 7.70, Backslash Security 4.90 |
| Cycode or Endor Labs | Cycode 7.70, Endor Labs 7.60 |
| Cycode or GitHub Advanced Security | Cycode 7.70, GitHub Advanced Security 6.35 |
| Cycode or Legit Security | Legit Security 8.80, Cycode 7.70 |
| Cycode or OX Security | Cycode 7.70, OX Security 7.25 |
| Cycode or Semgrep | Cycode 7.70, Semgrep 5.95 |
| Cycode or Snyk | Cycode 7.70, Snyk 7.15 |
| Cycode or Wiz Code | Cycode 7.70, Wiz Code 6.00 |
Frequently asked questions
How much does Cycode cost?
Not published. Tiers are named (ADLC Security, Code Security, Software Supply Chain Security, Posture Management, Cycode Complete, Cycode AI). "Pricing is based on your active developer count and AI usage"; no figures are published. Free trial offered; no free tier.
Does Cycode control what coding agents do?
Yes. IDE guardrails intercept secrets, file context, prompts and tool calls before they reach AI services, with MCP enforcement; the AI-BOM tracks rule files, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance.
Does Cycode have an agent that writes fixes?
Yes. The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes.