HEAD TO HEAD
Cycode or Legit Security: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Cycode
Three named AppSec agents under Cycode Maestro
Rank 2 of 10
Legit Security
Agent governance and SDLC-wide policy in one ASPM platform
Rank 1 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Cycode | Legit Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 9 / 10 The AI inventory and AIBOM cover code assistants (GitHub Copilot, Cursor, Tabnine), MCP servers, models and AI secrets, with a three-state authorization of Needs Review, Authorized or Unauthorized. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 VibeGuard runs on the developer endpoint and discovers agents, models, MCP servers and skills; the security team gets an inventory of skills, MCPs, models and agents and can flag off-standard tools. Source: Legit Security blog: what we learned building VibeGuard 2.0 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 8 / 10 IDE hooks, starting with Cursor and Claude Code, enforce guardrails such as Block Unauthorized MCPs and Restrict MCP Execution to Localhost Only, with violations tracked; an endpoint agent and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Command monitoring and blocking by custom or built-in policies, approve, block or flag decisions from a central management console, and anti-tampering that stops agents or users from disabling it; an audit log specific to VibeGuard is not stated on the pages reviewed. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release (re-read October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Tie |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 9 / 10 IDE guardrails intercept secrets in prompts, file reads and MCP tool calls before they leave the IDE, and the AIBOM tracks AI secrets. Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 10 / 10 A secrets MCP backed by the OS keychain or environment variables scopes credentials to the session and keeps them out of history files and agent memory; VibeGuard also restricts agent access to files containing secrets. Source: Legit Security blog: what we learned building VibeGuard 2.0 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 7 / 10 The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes matched to the codebase's patterns; validation of the fix is not stated. Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 9 / 10 Agentic Remediation fixes first-party SAST findings and dependency (SCA) vulnerabilities, re-scans before and after, then opens a pull request with the fix and vulnerability details; major-version code adaptations are flagged as AI-assessed in the PR. Source: Legit Security blog: Agentic Remediation now fixes dependencies · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 9 / 10 The AI Exploitability Agent checks whether a CVE is reachable, under Cycode Maestro orchestration. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 10 / 10 Legit states its prioritization uses reachability and business criticality, and risk scoring weighs business criticality, compliance, GenAI use, APIs and internet exposure; remediation agents prioritize findings. Source: Legit Security press release, 18 June 2026 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 9 / 10 CI/CD pipeline posture, source code leakage detection, secrets, SBOM and AI-BOM. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 10 / 10 Discovers SDLC systems and CI/CD pipelines and enforces "100's of policies"; secrets scanning reaches Git history, Jira, Confluence, Slack, build logs and personal GitHub accounts. Source: Legit Security: software supply chain security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 9 / 10 Native SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC scanning plus 120+ connectors through ConnectorX. Source: Cycode pricing: 120+ connectors · Read 13 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 Runs its own SAST, SCA and secrets detection, orchestrates existing scanners and de-duplicates their findings. Source: Legit Security: ASPM platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Windsurf and OpenAI Codex. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 3 / 10 Tiers and the pricing basis (active developers and AI usage) are published; figures are not. Source: Cycode pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 4 / 10 No pricing page on Legit's own site; one AWS Marketplace list price is published ($60,000 for a 12-month contract, all modules and 24/7 support, 100 users). No free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Legit Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Cycode | Legit Security |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented IDE guardrails intercept secrets, file context, prompts and tool calls before they reach AI services, with MCP enforcement; the AI-BOM tracks rule files, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance. Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VibeGuard 2.0 discovers coding agents on the developer endpoint, blocks dangerous operations, monitors and enforces commands by custom or built-in policy, secures MCP use and resists tampering. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented AI Guardrails, launched 17 February 2026, intercept secrets in prompts, file reads and MCP tool calls before they leave the IDE. Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VibeGuard runs SAST and SCA scans inside the IDE and blocks secrets from being shared with AI systems. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented Agentic code scanning across SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VibeGuard integrates with GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and CI/CD. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented CI/CD pipeline posture, source code leakage detection, SBOM and AI-BOM. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Discovers SDLC systems and CI/CD pipelines and states it can "Enforce 100's of policies". Source: Legit Security: software supply chain security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented The AI Exploitability Agent checks whether a CVE is reachable. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Prioritization uses reachability and business criticality, with risk scoring on business criticality, compliance, GenAI use, APIs and internet exposure. Source: Legit Security press release, 18 June 2026 · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Fix | Documented The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes. Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Agentic Remediation fixes SAST and SCA findings, re-scans and opens a pull request with the fix. Source: Legit Security blog: Agentic Remediation now fixes dependencies · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do they cost?
Cycode
Not published Tiers are named (ADLC Security, Code Security, Software Supply Chain Security, Posture Management, Cycode Complete, Cycode AI). "Pricing is based on your active developer count and AI usage"; no figures are published.
Source: Cycode pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: Free trial offered; no free tier.
Legit Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Legit Security S/W Platform, All Modules and 24/7 Support, 100 users, $60,000 for a 12-month contract. No pricing page on Legit's own site.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Legit Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: No free tier or self-serve trial published; sold through demos and AWS Marketplace (SaaS).
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Cycode | Legit Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named* |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 4 of 6 | 5 of 6 |
* Codex: supported, per Legit (confirmed to the publisher in October 2026).
Which should you choose?
Choose Cycode if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Cycode: Three named AppSec agents under Cycode Maestro.
Choose Legit Security if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Legit Security: Agent governance and SDLC-wide policy in one ASPM platform.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Cycode or Legit Security?
On our published weights Legit Security scores higher overall, 8.80 to 7.70 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Cycode or Legit Security?
Legit Security scores higher on the agent governance group (9.2 to 8.6). Cycode: IDE guardrails intercept secrets, file context, prompts and tool calls before they reach AI services, with MCP enforcement; the AI-BOM tracks rule files, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance. Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 discovers coding agents on the developer endpoint, blocks dangerous operations, monitors and enforces commands by custom or built-in policy, secures MCP use and resists tampering.
Do Cycode and Legit Security publish prices?
Cycode: Not published. Tiers are named (ADLC Security, Code Security, Software Supply Chain Security, Posture Management, Cycode Complete, Cycode AI). "Pricing is based on your active developer count and AI usage"; no figures are published. Legit Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Legit Security S/W Platform, All Modules and 24/7 Support, 100 users, $60,000 for a 12-month contract. No pricing page on Legit's own site.