PLATFORM PROFILE · RANK 9 OF 10
Semgrep review: Guardian agent hooks and Assistant triage
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
Rank 9 of 10 on our published weights
Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing
What does Semgrep do for agentic AppSec?
A code scanning platform with Semgrep Guardian for coding agents, Semgrep Assistant for triage and published Teams pricing.
Named agentic products: Semgrep Guardian, Semgrep Assistant and Semgrep Agentic Workflows (public beta).
Where along the pipeline does Semgrep act?
Agent Partial
Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed.
Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026
IDE Documented
VS Code and JetBrains support, with remediation guidance in IDEs.
Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Pull request Documented
Remediation guidance in pull requests.
Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Pipeline Documented
Supply Chain and Secrets products; malicious package detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets and Slack alerts added 24 September 2026.
Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026
Triage Documented
Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings.
Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Fix Partial
Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described.
Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
How does Semgrep score on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 3 / 10 | No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 6 / 10 | Guardian hooks on every file write block malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns inside individual agents. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 7 / 10 | Guardian stops hardcoded secrets at generation time, and Semgrep sells a Secrets product. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 4 / 10 | Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 8 / 10 | Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings and uses code context to cut false positives. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 7 / 10 | Supply Chain and Secrets products, with malware detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets added on 24 Sep 2026; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 7 / 10 | Code, Supply Chain and Secrets scanning with AI-assisted analysis; ingesting other scanners' findings is not described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 | Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 8 / 10 | Free up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories with 60 AI credits; Teams at $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain and $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month; Guardian pricing is not stated. Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
Which coding agents does Semgrep name?
- Claude CodeNamed
- CursorNamed
- GitHub CopilotNot named
- WindsurfNamed
- OpenAI CodexNot named
- KiroNot named
Semgrep names 3 of the six agents we track.
What does it cost, and can you start free?
- Pricing
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.
Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
- Free start
- Free for up to 10 contributors.
Where is Semgrep strongest, and where does it fall short?
Strongest
- Published per-contributor prices and a free tier for up to 10 contributors.
- Hooks that fire on every file write inside the agent, plus automated triage.
Falls short
- Agent and MCP discovery: 3 / 10; highest Legit Security and Backslash Security 10 / 10
- Agent policy enforcement and audit: 6 / 10; highest Backslash Security 9 / 10
- Secret handling for agents: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Agentic remediation: 4 / 10; highest Legit Security and GitHub Advanced Security 9 / 10
- Agentic triage and prioritization: 8 / 10; highest Legit Security, Apiiro and Endor Labs 10 / 10
- SDLC policy and supply chain posture: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Scanner coverage and orchestration: 7 / 10; highest Legit Security 10 / 10
- Named coding agent reach: 5 / 10; highest Legit Security and Snyk 8 / 10
- Pricing and trial transparency: 8 / 10; highest GitHub Advanced Security 9 / 10
- No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers on the pages reviewed.
- Remediation is guidance, not an agent that lands the fix.
Key facts
| Guardian | A plugin for AI coding agents that blocks malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns through an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills; in the Claude Code and Cursor marketplaces and in Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|
| Agentic workflows | Nine workflows in public beta from 28 July 2026 combine program analysis with AI reasoning, covering 70+ CWEs including SQL injection, XSS, SSRF and command injection. Source: Semgrep blog: agentic workflows · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Supply chain update | 24 September 2026: AI-assisted malicious package detection, enterprise policies that trigger Jira tickets and Slack alerts, and a Malware Firewall in private beta. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Platform | Semgrep Multimodal, Assistant auto-triage, remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs, VS Code and JetBrains, MCP. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
How does Semgrep compare head to head?
| Comparison | Result |
|---|---|
| Aikido Security or Semgrep | Semgrep 5.95, Aikido Security 5.75 |
| Apiiro or Semgrep | Apiiro 6.30, Semgrep 5.95 |
| Backslash Security or Semgrep | Semgrep 5.95, Backslash Security 4.90 |
| Cycode or Semgrep | Cycode 7.70, Semgrep 5.95 |
| Endor Labs or Semgrep | Endor Labs 7.60, Semgrep 5.95 |
| GitHub Advanced Security or Semgrep | GitHub Advanced Security 6.35, Semgrep 5.95 |
| Legit Security or Semgrep | Legit Security 8.80, Semgrep 5.95 |
| OX Security or Semgrep | OX Security 7.25, Semgrep 5.95 |
| Semgrep or Snyk | Snyk 7.15, Semgrep 5.95 |
| Semgrep or Wiz Code | Wiz Code 6.00, Semgrep 5.95 |
Frequently asked questions
How much does Semgrep cost?
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated. Free for up to 10 contributors.
Does Semgrep control what coding agents do?
In part. Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed.
Does Semgrep have an agent that writes fixes?
In part. Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described.