HEAD TO HEAD
Apiiro or Semgrep: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Apiiro
Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage
Rank 7 of 10
Semgrep
Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing
Rank 9 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Apiiro | Semgrep | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 7 / 10 AI-SPM and AI-BOM discovery, positioned around risks across AI coding agents, IDE extensions and MCP servers. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 3 / 10 No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 5 / 10 Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment and pre-commit prevention; policy that blocks agent actions is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 6 / 10 Guardian hooks on every file write block malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns inside individual agents. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 6 / 10 Secrets security is listed; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Guardian stops hardcoded secrets at generation time, and Semgrep sells a Secrets product. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 5 / 10 AutoFix is listed and free for open source maintainers; scope, where fixes land and validation are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 4 / 10 Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 A Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code changes to runtime context, with AI threat modeling. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings and uses code context to cut false positives. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Software supply chain security, AI-BOM and secrets security; pipeline policy detail is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Supply Chain and Secrets products, with malware detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets added on 24 Sep 2026; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 8 / 10 AI SAST and AI SCA plus 100+ tool integrations. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Code, Supply Chain and Secrets scanning with AI-assisted analysis; ingesting other scanners' findings is not described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 2 / 10 No pricing is published. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Free up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories with 60 AI credits; Teams at $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain and $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month; Guardian pricing is not stated. Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Semgrep |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Apiiro | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Pre-commit prevention. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VS Code and JetBrains support, with remediation guidance in IDEs. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented AI SAST, AI SCA and Deep Code Analysis that detects material code changes. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Remediation guidance in pull requests. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Software supply chain security, AI-BOM discovery and secrets security. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Supply Chain and Secrets products; malicious package detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets and Slack alerts added 24 September 2026. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented The Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code to runtime context. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Partial AutoFix is listed; what it fixes and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Apiiro
Not published No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers.
Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: No free commercial tier published.
Semgrep
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.
Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free for up to 10 contributors.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Apiiro | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Apiiro if you need agentic triage and prioritization and sdlc policy and supply chain posture. Apiiro: Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage.
Choose Semgrep if you need agentic triage and prioritization and pricing and trial transparency. Semgrep: Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Apiiro or Semgrep?
On our published weights Apiiro scores higher overall, 6.30 to 5.95 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Apiiro or Semgrep?
Apiiro scores higher on the agent governance group (6.0 to 5.0). Apiiro: Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Semgrep: Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed.
Do Apiiro and Semgrep publish prices?
Apiiro: Not published. No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers. Semgrep: Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.