HEAD TO HEAD
Endor Labs or Semgrep: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Endor Labs
Reachability-first triage with an agent inventory
Rank 3 of 10
Semgrep
Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing
Rank 9 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Endor Labs | Semgrep | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 9 / 10 AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 3 / 10 No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 7 / 10 AURI applies policy at the moment of action, and AURI Agents put mutating actions behind approval gates; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Guardian hooks on every file write block malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns inside individual agents. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 6 / 10 Pre-commit secrets detection; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Guardian stops hardcoded secrets at generation time, and Semgrep sells a Secrets product. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 8 / 10 AURI Agents include AI SAST Remediation, which writes the fix or files the exception, and SCA Remediation, which picks a non-breaking version, runs the build and opens the PR; mutating actions sit behind approval gates and agents run on customer infrastructure. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 Reachability across dependencies, containers and first-party code is the core of the product. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings and uses code context to cut false positives. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Malicious package detection, a package firewall extended to VS Code extensions (9 Sep 2026), pre-commit secrets and artifact signing; an AURI CI/CD Posture agent scores CI/CD and supply-chain security across a namespace, SCM org or repo. Source: Endor Labs: Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows (CI/CD Posture agent) · Read 12 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Supply Chain and Secrets products, with malware detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets added on 24 Sep 2026; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 7 / 10 Native AI SAST, SCA, container and secrets coverage; the SBOM Hub imports external SBOMs, but import of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: Endor Labs SBOM Hub · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Code, Supply Chain and Secrets scanning with AI-assisted analysis; ingesting other scanners' findings is not described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 Plan names, the seat definition and a free local tier are published, and AURI Agents are free for Endor Labs customers; Core and Pro prices are not. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Free up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories with 60 AI credits; Teams at $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain and $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month; Guardian pricing is not stated. Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Semgrep |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Endor Labs | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills and applies policy at the moment of action. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented An MCP server installs into Cursor, Claude Code, VS Code with GitHub Copilot, Codex and Antigravity; secrets detection runs pre-commit. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VS Code and JetBrains support, with remediation guidance in IDEs. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented AI SAST traces dataflow across repositories and pull requests; AI Security Code Review agents flag design-level issues. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Remediation guidance in pull requests. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Malicious package detection, a package firewall and artifact signing; Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions launched 9 September 2026. Source: Endor Labs: Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Supply Chain and Secrets products; malicious package detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets and Slack alerts added 24 September 2026. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented Reachability across dependencies, containers and first-party code. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Documented AURI Agents write SAST fixes or file exceptions, and SCA Remediation picks a non-breaking version, runs the build and opens the PR, behind approval gates. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partial Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Endor Labs
Not published Developer (free, no account, local only), Core and Pro are named; seats are contributors with commits in the last 90 days. Core and Pro prices are not published.
Source: Endor Labs pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: Free Developer tier that runs locally without an account.
Semgrep
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.
Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free for up to 10 contributors.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Endor Labs | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 4 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Endor Labs if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Endor Labs: Reachability-first triage with an agent inventory.
Choose Semgrep if you need agentic triage and prioritization and pricing and trial transparency. Semgrep: Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Endor Labs or Semgrep?
On our published weights Endor Labs scores higher overall, 7.60 to 5.95 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Endor Labs or Semgrep?
Endor Labs scores higher on the agent governance group (7.6 to 5.0). Endor Labs: AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills and applies policy at the moment of action. Semgrep: Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed.
Do Endor Labs and Semgrep publish prices?
Endor Labs: Not published. Developer (free, no account, local only), Core and Pro are named; seats are contributors with commits in the last 90 days. Core and Pro prices are not published. Semgrep: Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.