HEAD TO HEAD
Semgrep or Snyk: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Semgrep
Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing
Rank 9 of 10
Snyk
Widest named coding agent reach and a free start
Rank 5 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Semgrep | Snyk | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 3 / 10 No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools used by coding agents. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 6 / 10 Guardian hooks on every file write block malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns inside individual agents. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Evo can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity on an Enterprise subscription; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 7 / 10 Guardian stops hardcoded secrets at generation time, and Semgrep sells a Secrets product. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 Aug 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 4 / 10 Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI on 4 Aug 2026; validation and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 8 / 10 Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings and uses code context to cut false positives. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 9 / 10 Prioritizes with a Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends. Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Snyk |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 7 / 10 Supply Chain and Secrets products, with malware detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets added on 24 Sep 2026; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Dependency scanning is core and Snyk Secrets (generally available 4 Aug 2026) adds prevention gates across agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD; pipeline posture is not described. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 7 / 10 Code, Supply Chain and Secrets scanning with AI-assisted analysis; ingesting other scanners' findings is not described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Broad native scanning (SAST, SCA, IaC, containers); ingesting other scanners' findings is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, Windsurf, OpenAI Codex and Kiro. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Snyk homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 8 / 10 Free up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories with 60 AI credits; Teams at $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain and $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month; Guardian pricing is not stated. Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Free and Team (from $25 a month, up to 10 developers) are published with a public Enterprise credit rate, but coding agent security is Enterprise only. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Semgrep | Snyk |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Partial Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise). Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented VS Code and JetBrains support, with remediation guidance in IDEs. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented The Free plan includes IDE, CLI and source control integrations. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented Remediation guidance in pull requests. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented SAST, SCA, IaC and container scanning through source control integrations. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Supply Chain and Secrets products; malicious package detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets and Slack alerts added 24 September 2026. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 August 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, pull requests and CI/CD. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends. Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Fix | Partial Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI and agentic development environments on 4 August 2026. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Semgrep
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.
Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free for up to 10 contributors.
Snyk
Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.
Source: Snyk plans (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free plan with IDE, CLI and source control integrations.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Semgrep | Snyk |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Not named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named |
| Kiro | Not named | Named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 5 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Semgrep if you need agentic triage and prioritization and pricing and trial transparency. Semgrep: Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing.
Choose Snyk if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Snyk: Widest named coding agent reach and a free start.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Semgrep or Snyk?
On our published weights Snyk scores higher overall, 7.15 to 5.95 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Semgrep or Snyk?
Snyk scores higher on the agent governance group (7.6 to 5.0). Semgrep: Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed. Snyk: Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise).
Do Semgrep and Snyk publish prices?
Semgrep: Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated. Snyk: Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.