HEAD TO HEAD
Legit Security or Semgrep: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Legit Security
Agent governance and SDLC-wide policy in one ASPM platform
Rank 1 of 10
Semgrep
Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing
Rank 9 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Legit Security | Semgrep | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 10 / 10 VibeGuard runs on the developer endpoint and discovers agents, models, MCP servers and skills; the security team gets an inventory of skills, MCPs, models and agents and can flag off-standard tools. Source: Legit Security blog: what we learned building VibeGuard 2.0 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 3 / 10 No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 8 / 10 Command monitoring and blocking by custom or built-in policies, approve, block or flag decisions from a central management console, and anti-tampering that stops agents or users from disabling it; an audit log specific to VibeGuard is not stated on the pages reviewed. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release (re-read October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Guardian hooks on every file write block malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns inside individual agents. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 10 / 10 A secrets MCP backed by the OS keychain or environment variables scopes credentials to the session and keeps them out of history files and agent memory; VibeGuard also restricts agent access to files containing secrets. Source: Legit Security blog: what we learned building VibeGuard 2.0 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Guardian stops hardcoded secrets at generation time, and Semgrep sells a Secrets product. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 9 / 10 Agentic Remediation fixes first-party SAST findings and dependency (SCA) vulnerabilities, re-scans before and after, then opens a pull request with the fix and vulnerability details; major-version code adaptations are flagged as AI-assessed in the PR. Source: Legit Security blog: Agentic Remediation now fixes dependencies · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 Legit states its prioritization uses reachability and business criticality, and risk scoring weighs business criticality, compliance, GenAI use, APIs and internet exposure; remediation agents prioritize findings. Source: Legit Security press release, 18 June 2026 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings and uses code context to cut false positives. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 10 / 10 Discovers SDLC systems and CI/CD pipelines and enforces "100's of policies"; secrets scanning reaches Git history, Jira, Confluence, Slack, build logs and personal GitHub accounts. Source: Legit Security: software supply chain security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Supply Chain and Secrets products, with malware detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets added on 24 Sep 2026; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 10 / 10 Runs its own SAST, SCA and secrets detection, orchestrates existing scanners and de-duplicates their findings. Source: Legit Security: ASPM platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Code, Supply Chain and Secrets scanning with AI-assisted analysis; ingesting other scanners' findings is not described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 8 / 10 Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Windsurf and OpenAI Codex. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 No pricing page on Legit's own site; one AWS Marketplace list price is published ($60,000 for a 12-month contract, all modules and 24/7 support, 100 users). No free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Legit Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Free up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories with 60 AI credits; Teams at $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain and $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month; Guardian pricing is not stated. Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Semgrep |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Legit Security | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented VibeGuard 2.0 discovers coding agents on the developer endpoint, blocks dangerous operations, monitors and enforces commands by custom or built-in policy, secures MCP use and resists tampering. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented VibeGuard runs SAST and SCA scans inside the IDE and blocks secrets from being shared with AI systems. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VS Code and JetBrains support, with remediation guidance in IDEs. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented VibeGuard integrates with GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and CI/CD. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Remediation guidance in pull requests. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Discovers SDLC systems and CI/CD pipelines and states it can "Enforce 100's of policies". Source: Legit Security: software supply chain security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Supply Chain and Secrets products; malicious package detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets and Slack alerts added 24 September 2026. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented Prioritization uses reachability and business criticality, with risk scoring on business criticality, compliance, GenAI use, APIs and internet exposure. Source: Legit Security press release, 18 June 2026 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Documented Agentic Remediation fixes SAST and SCA findings, re-scans and opens a pull request with the fix. Source: Legit Security blog: Agentic Remediation now fixes dependencies · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partial Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Legit Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Legit Security S/W Platform, All Modules and 24/7 Support, 100 users, $60,000 for a 12-month contract. No pricing page on Legit's own site.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Legit Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: No free tier or self-serve trial published; sold through demos and AWS Marketplace (SaaS).
Semgrep
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.
Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free for up to 10 contributors.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Legit Security | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Named* | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 5 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
* Codex: supported, per Legit (confirmed to the publisher in October 2026).
Which should you choose?
Choose Legit Security if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Legit Security: Agent governance and SDLC-wide policy in one ASPM platform.
Choose Semgrep if you need agentic triage and prioritization and pricing and trial transparency. Semgrep: Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Legit Security or Semgrep?
On our published weights Legit Security scores higher overall, 8.80 to 5.95 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Legit Security or Semgrep?
Legit Security scores higher on the agent governance group (9.2 to 5.0). Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 discovers coding agents on the developer endpoint, blocks dangerous operations, monitors and enforces commands by custom or built-in policy, secures MCP use and resists tampering. Semgrep: Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed.
Do Legit Security and Semgrep publish prices?
Legit Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Legit Security S/W Platform, All Modules and 24/7 Support, 100 users, $60,000 for a 12-month contract. No pricing page on Legit's own site. Semgrep: Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.