HEAD TO HEAD
Backslash Security or Semgrep: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Backslash Security
Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills
Rank 10 of 10
Semgrep
Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing
Rank 9 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Backslash Security | Semgrep | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 10 / 10 Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 3 / 10 No org-wide inventory of agents or MCP servers is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 9 / 10 Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Guardian hooks on every file write block malicious dependencies, hardcoded credentials and vulnerable patterns inside individual agents. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 5 / 10 SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Guardian stops hardcoded secrets at generation time, and Semgrep sells a Secrets product. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 2 / 10 No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 3 / 10 A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings and uses code context to cut false positives. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 5 / 10 Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Supply Chain and Secrets products, with malware detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets added on 24 Sep 2026; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 5 / 10 Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Code, Supply Chain and Secrets scanning with AI-assisted analysis; ingesting other scanners' findings is not described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Semgrep |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Free up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories with 60 AI credits; Teams at $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain and $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month; Guardian pricing is not stated. Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Semgrep |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Backslash Security | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partial Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed. Source: Semgrep Guardian · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented VS Code and JetBrains support, with remediation guidance in IDEs. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Not documented Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Remediation guidance in pull requests. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Partial SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Supply Chain and Secrets products; malicious package detection and policy actions such as Jira tickets and Slack alerts added 24 September 2026. Source: Semgrep blog: malware detection and response automation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Not documented A prioritization method is not described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Semgrep Assistant auto-triages findings. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Not documented No agent that writes fixes is described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partial Remediation guidance in PRs and IDEs; no agent that writes and lands fixes is described. Source: Semgrep homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Backslash Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.
Semgrep
Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.
Source: Semgrep pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free for up to 10 contributors.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Backslash Security | Semgrep |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.
Choose Semgrep if you need agentic triage and prioritization and pricing and trial transparency. Semgrep: Agent hooks with published per-contributor pricing.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or Semgrep?
On our published weights Semgrep scores higher overall, 5.95 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or Semgrep?
Backslash Security scores higher on the agent governance group (8.6 to 5.0). Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Semgrep: Guardian runs as an MCP server, hooks on every file write and skills in Claude Code, Cursor and Windsurf; no org-wide agent inventory on the pages reviewed.
Do Backslash Security and Semgrep publish prices?
Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. Semgrep: Free for up to 10 contributors and 10 repositories (60 AI credits). Teams: $30 a month per contributor for Code or Supply Chain, $15 for Secrets, with 20 AI credits per developer a month. Enterprise custom (50 AI credits per developer a month). Guardian pricing is not stated.