HEAD TO HEAD
Backslash Security or Cycode: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Backslash Security
Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills
Rank 10 of 10
Cycode
Three named AppSec agents under Cycode Maestro
Rank 2 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Backslash Security | Cycode | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 10 / 10 Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 The AI inventory and AIBOM cover code assistants (GitHub Copilot, Cursor, Tabnine), MCP servers, models and AI secrets, with a three-state authorization of Needs Review, Authorized or Unauthorized. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 9 / 10 Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 IDE hooks, starting with Cursor and Claude Code, enforce guardrails such as Block Unauthorized MCPs and Restrict MCP Execution to Localhost Only, with violations tracked; an endpoint agent and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Cycode blog: AI governance, AIBOM and MCP enforcement · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 5 / 10 SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 IDE guardrails intercept secrets in prompts, file reads and MCP tool calls before they leave the IDE, and the AIBOM tracks AI secrets. Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Cycode |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 2 / 10 No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes matched to the codebase's patterns; validation of the fix is not stated. Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Cycode |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 3 / 10 A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 The AI Exploitability Agent checks whether a CVE is reachable, under Cycode Maestro orchestration. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Cycode |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 5 / 10 Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 CI/CD pipeline posture, source code leakage detection, secrets, SBOM and AI-BOM. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Cycode |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 5 / 10 Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Native SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC scanning plus 120+ connectors through ConnectorX. Source: Cycode pricing: 120+ connectors · Read 13 Oct 2026 | Cycode |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Cycode |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 3 / 10 Tiers and the pricing basis (active developers and AI usage) are published; figures are not. Source: Cycode pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Backslash Security | Cycode |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented IDE guardrails intercept secrets, file context, prompts and tool calls before they reach AI services, with MCP enforcement; the AI-BOM tracks rule files, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance. Source: Cycode: AI security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented AI Guardrails, launched 17 February 2026, intercept secrets in prompts, file reads and MCP tool calls before they leave the IDE. Source: Cycode blog: AI Guardrails in the IDE · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Not documented Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Agentic code scanning across SAST, SCA, secrets, container and IaC. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Partial SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented CI/CD pipeline posture, source code leakage detection, SBOM and AI-BOM. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Not documented A prioritization method is not described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented The AI Exploitability Agent checks whether a CVE is reachable. Source: Cycode homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Not documented No agent that writes fixes is described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented The AI Fix and Remediation Agent analyzes root cause and produces PR-ready fixes. Source: Cycode blog: AI teammates · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Backslash Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.
Cycode
Not published Tiers are named (ADLC Security, Code Security, Software Supply Chain Security, Posture Management, Cycode Complete, Cycode AI). "Pricing is based on your active developer count and AI usage"; no figures are published.
Source: Cycode pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: Free trial offered; no free tier.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Backslash Security | Cycode |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 4 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.
Choose Cycode if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Cycode: Three named AppSec agents under Cycode Maestro.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or Cycode?
On our published weights Cycode scores higher overall, 7.70 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or Cycode?
They tie on the agent governance group at 8.6. Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Cycode: IDE guardrails intercept secrets, file context, prompts and tool calls before they reach AI services, with MCP enforcement; the AI-BOM tracks rule files, MCP servers and AI API keys with provenance.
Do Backslash Security and Cycode publish prices?
Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. Cycode: Not published. Tiers are named (ADLC Security, Code Security, Software Supply Chain Security, Posture Management, Cycode Complete, Cycode AI). "Pricing is based on your active developer count and AI usage"; no figures are published.