HEAD TO HEAD
Apiiro or OX Security: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Apiiro
Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage
Rank 7 of 10
OX Security
Security guidance to the agent before code is written
Rank 4 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Apiiro | OX Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 7 / 10 AI-SPM and AI-BOM discovery, positioned around risks across AI coding agents, IDE extensions and MCP servers. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 VibeSec keeps an Agent AI BOM of MCP servers, external SaaS and AI models, with usage and users. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | OX |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 5 / 10 Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment and pre-commit prevention; policy that blocks agent actions is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Allow or block specific MCP tools, SaaS integrations and models, with an Agent Activity Log of prompts and tool calls; an endpoint agent and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | OX |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 6 / 10 Secrets security is listed; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 VibeSec lists secret protection; how secrets are kept from agents is not detailed on the pages reviewed. Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026 | OX |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 5 / 10 AutoFix is listed and free for open source maintainers; scope, where fixes land and validation are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 6 / 10 AI-Powered Fixes deliver context-aware one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews; validation of the fix is not stated. Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026 | OX |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 A Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code changes to runtime context, with AI threat modeling. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 ASPM correlation plus an Agentic Pentester that ties exploitable issues back to code and APIs. Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Software supply chain security, AI-BOM and secrets security; pipeline policy detail is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Software supply chain security, SBOM with drift detection, secrets and PII detection, and dependency vetting for agent installs (9 Sep 2026). Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 8 / 10 AI SAST and AI SCA plus 100+ tool integrations. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 OX Code covers SAST, SCA, secrets, IaC, containers and API scanning with ASPM correlation across them. Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Kiro. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026 | OX |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 2 / 10 No pricing is published. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 6 / 10 Free for up to 9 developer contributors under its Terms of Service; an AWS Marketplace list price is published ($100,000 for 12 months, all modules, 100 users); per-product pricing units are published, prices on its own site are not. Source: OX Security Terms of Service · Read 11 Oct 2026 | OX |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Apiiro | OX Security |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VibeSec analyzes the prompt and sends security guidance to the agent before code is generated, vets dependencies and keeps an AI inventory and agent activity log. Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Pre-commit prevention. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented VS Code extension and JetBrains plugin, plus MCP integration. Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented AI SAST, AI SCA and Deep Code Analysis that detects material code changes. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented OX Code covers SAST, SCA, secrets, IaC, containers and APIs, with pipeline scanning. Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Software supply chain security, AI-BOM discovery and secrets security. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Software supply chain security, SBOM with drift detection, and Dependency Vetting for agent installs (9 September 2026). Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented The Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code to runtime context. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented ASPM correlation plus an Agentic Pentester that ties exploitable issues back to code and APIs. Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Partial AutoFix is listed; what it fixes and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented AI-Powered Fixes deliver one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews. Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do they cost?
Apiiro
Not published No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers.
Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: No free commercial tier published.
OX Security
AWS Marketplace list price: OX Security Platform, All Modules, 100 users, $100,000 for 12 months. On its own site OX publishes pricing units (VibeSec per AI user, OX Code per contributing developer, OX Cloud per cloud asset, Agentic Pentester per agent hour) but not prices.
Source: AWS Marketplace: OX Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free for up to 9 developer contributors under OX's Terms of Service (updated December 2025); 10 or more contributors need a subscription.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Apiiro | OX Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Not named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 4 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Apiiro if you need agentic triage and prioritization and sdlc policy and supply chain posture. Apiiro: Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage.
Choose OX Security if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. OX Security: Security guidance to the agent before code is written.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Apiiro or OX Security?
On our published weights OX Security scores higher overall, 7.25 to 6.30 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Apiiro or OX Security?
OX Security scores higher on the agent governance group (7.8 to 6.0). Apiiro: Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. OX Security: VibeSec analyzes the prompt and sends security guidance to the agent before code is generated, vets dependencies and keeps an AI inventory and agent activity log.
Do Apiiro and OX Security publish prices?
Apiiro: Not published. No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers. OX Security: AWS Marketplace list price: OX Security Platform, All Modules, 100 users, $100,000 for 12 months. On its own site OX publishes pricing units (VibeSec per AI user, OX Code per contributing developer, OX Cloud per cloud asset, Agentic Pentester per agent hour) but not prices.