Skip to content
Best Agentic AppSec logoBest Agentic AppSec

HEAD TO HEAD

Backslash Security or OX Security: agentic AppSec compared

Short answer

On our published weights OX Security scores higher overall, 7.25 to 4.90 out of 10. Backslash scores higher on Discovery and Policy and audit; OX scores higher on Secrets, Remediation, Triage, SDLC policy, Orchestration, Agent reach and Pricing. The right choice depends on which of those criteria matters most to you.

By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08

Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.

How do they compare at a glance?

Backslash Security

Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills

4.90 / 10

Rank 10 of 10

Backslash Security pipeline strip: documented at 2 of 6 control points, plus 1 partial.AgentDocumentedIDEDocumentedPull requestNot documentedPipelinePartialTriageNot documentedFixNot documented

OX Security

Security guidance to the agent before code is written

7.25 / 10

Rank 4 of 10

OX Security pipeline strip: documented at 6 of 6 control points.AgentDocumentedIDEDocumentedPull requestDocumentedPipelineDocumentedTriageDocumentedFixDocumented

Which scores higher on each criterion?

Backslash Security and OX Security: criterion scores (editorial assessment, 0 to 10)
CriterionWeightBackslash SecurityOX SecurityHigher
Agent and MCP discovery10%
10 / 10

Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

VibeSec keeps an Agent AI BOM of MCP servers, external SaaS and AI models, with usage and users.

Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Backslash
Agent policy enforcement and audit10%
9 / 10

Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

Allow or block specific MCP tools, SaaS integrations and models, with an Agent Activity Log of prompts and tool calls; an endpoint agent and tamper resistance are not stated.

Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Backslash
Secret handling for agents5%
5 / 10

SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

7 / 10

VibeSec lists secret protection; how secrets are kept from agents is not detailed on the pages reviewed.

Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026

OX
Agentic remediation20%
2 / 10

No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

6 / 10

AI-Powered Fixes deliver context-aware one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews; validation of the fix is not stated.

Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026

OX
Agentic triage and prioritization15%
3 / 10

A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

ASPM correlation plus an Agentic Pentester that ties exploitable issues back to code and APIs.

Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

OX
SDLC policy and supply chain posture10%
5 / 10

Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

Software supply chain security, SBOM with drift detection, secrets and PII detection, and dependency vetting for agent installs (9 Sep 2026).

Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026

OX
Scanner coverage and orchestration10%
5 / 10

Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

OX Code covers SAST, SCA, secrets, IaC, containers and API scanning with ASPM correlation across them.

Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

OX
Named coding agent reach10%
5 / 10

Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Kiro.

Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026

OX
Pricing and trial transparency10%
4 / 10

No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

6 / 10

Free for up to 9 developer contributors under its Terms of Service; an AWS Marketplace list price is published ($100,000 for 12 months, all modules, 100 users); per-product pricing units are published, prices on its own site are not.

Source: OX Security Terms of Service · Read 11 Oct 2026

OX

How do they differ along the pipeline?

Pipeline control points: Backslash Security and OX Security
Control pointBackslash SecurityOX Security
Agent

Documented

Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

VibeSec analyzes the prompt and sends security guidance to the agent before code is generated, vets dependencies and keeps an AI inventory and agent activity log.

Source: OX Security docs: VibeSec · Read 27 Sep 2026

IDE

Documented

Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

VS Code extension and JetBrains plugin, plus MCP integration.

Source: OX Security docs index · Read 27 Sep 2026

Pull request

Not documented

Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

OX Code covers SAST, SCA, secrets, IaC, containers and APIs, with pipeline scanning.

Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Pipeline

Partial

SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Software supply chain security, SBOM with drift detection, and Dependency Vetting for agent installs (9 September 2026).

Source: OX Security blog: VibeSec Dependency Vetting · Read 27 Sep 2026

Triage

Not documented

A prioritization method is not described.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

ASPM correlation plus an Agentic Pentester that ties exploitable issues back to code and APIs.

Source: OX Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Fix

Not documented

No agent that writes fixes is described.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

AI-Powered Fixes deliver one-click fixes in CI/CD pipelines, IDEs and pull or merge requests, with diffs and commit previews.

Source: OX Security: AI-Powered Fixes · Read 11 Oct 2026

What do they cost?

Backslash Security

AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.

OX Security

AWS Marketplace list price: OX Security Platform, All Modules, 100 users, $100,000 for 12 months. On its own site OX publishes pricing units (VibeSec per AI user, OX Code per contributing developer, OX Cloud per cloud asset, Agentic Pentester per agent hour) but not prices.

Source: AWS Marketplace: OX Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Free start: Free for up to 9 developer contributors under OX's Terms of Service (updated December 2025); 10 or more contributors need a subscription.

Which coding agents does each name?

Coding agents named on each vendor's pages
AgentBackslash SecurityOX Security
Claude CodeNot namedNamed
CursorNamedNamed
GitHub CopilotNamedNamed
WindsurfNamedNot named
OpenAI CodexNot namedNot named
KiroNot namedNamed
Total3 of 64 of 6

Which should you choose?

Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.

Choose OX Security if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. OX Security: Security guidance to the agent before code is written.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or OX Security?

On our published weights OX Security scores higher overall, 7.25 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.

Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or OX Security?

Backslash Security scores higher on the agent governance group (8.6 to 7.8). Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. OX Security: VibeSec analyzes the prompt and sends security guidance to the agent before code is generated, vets dependencies and keeps an AI inventory and agent activity log.

Do Backslash Security and OX Security publish prices?

Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. OX Security: AWS Marketplace list price: OX Security Platform, All Modules, 100 users, $100,000 for 12 months. On its own site OX publishes pricing units (VibeSec per AI user, OX Code per contributing developer, OX Cloud per cloud asset, Agentic Pentester per agent hour) but not prices.