HEAD TO HEAD
Apiiro or Snyk: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Apiiro
Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage
Rank 7 of 10
Snyk
Widest named coding agent reach and a free start
Rank 5 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Apiiro | Snyk | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 7 / 10 AI-SPM and AI-BOM discovery, positioned around risks across AI coding agents, IDE extensions and MCP servers. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools used by coding agents. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 5 / 10 Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment and pre-commit prevention; policy that blocks agent actions is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Evo can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity on an Enterprise subscription; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 6 / 10 Secrets security is listed; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 Aug 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 5 / 10 AutoFix is listed and free for open source maintainers; scope, where fixes land and validation are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI on 4 Aug 2026; validation and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 A Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code changes to runtime context, with AI threat modeling. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 9 / 10 Prioritizes with a Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends. Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Apiiro |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Software supply chain security, AI-BOM and secrets security; pipeline policy detail is not described. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Dependency scanning is core and Snyk Secrets (generally available 4 Aug 2026) adds prevention gates across agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD; pipeline posture is not described. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 8 / 10 AI SAST and AI SCA plus 100+ tool integrations. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Broad native scanning (SAST, SCA, IaC, containers); ingesting other scanners' findings is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Apiiro |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, Windsurf, OpenAI Codex and Kiro. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Snyk homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 2 / 10 No pricing is published. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Free and Team (from $25 a month, up to 10 developers) are published with a public Enterprise credit rate, but coding agent security is Enterprise only. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Apiiro | Snyk |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise). Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Pre-commit prevention. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented The Free plan includes IDE, CLI and source control integrations. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented AI SAST, AI SCA and Deep Code Analysis that detects material code changes. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented SAST, SCA, IaC and container scanning through source control integrations. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Software supply chain security, AI-BOM discovery and secrets security. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 August 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, pull requests and CI/CD. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented The Software Architecture Graph and Risk Graph connect code to runtime context. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends. Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Fix | Partial AutoFix is listed; what it fixes and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI and agentic development environments on 4 August 2026. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Apiiro
Not published No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers.
Source: Apiiro homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: No free commercial tier published.
Snyk
Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.
Source: Snyk plans (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free plan with IDE, CLI and source control integrations.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Apiiro | Snyk |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named |
| Kiro | Not named | Named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 5 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Apiiro if you need agentic triage and prioritization and sdlc policy and supply chain posture. Apiiro: Code-to-runtime risk graph for triage.
Choose Snyk if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Snyk: Widest named coding agent reach and a free start.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Apiiro or Snyk?
On our published weights Snyk scores higher overall, 7.15 to 6.30 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Apiiro or Snyk?
Snyk scores higher on the agent governance group (7.6 to 6.0). Apiiro: Guardian Agent adds secure prompt enrichment for Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Claude Code. Snyk: Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise).
Do Apiiro and Snyk publish prices?
Apiiro: Not published. No pricing is published. AutoFix is free for open source maintainers. Snyk: Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.