HEAD TO HEAD
Backslash Security or Endor Labs: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Backslash Security
Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills
Rank 10 of 10
Endor Labs
Reachability-first triage with an agent inventory
Rank 3 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Backslash Security | Endor Labs | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 10 / 10 Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 9 / 10 Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 AURI applies policy at the moment of action, and AURI Agents put mutating actions behind approval gates; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 5 / 10 SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Pre-commit secrets detection; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 2 / 10 No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 AURI Agents include AI SAST Remediation, which writes the fix or files the exception, and SCA Remediation, which picks a non-breaking version, runs the build and opens the PR; mutating actions sit behind approval gates and agents run on customer infrastructure. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 3 / 10 A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 Reachability across dependencies, containers and first-party code is the core of the product. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 5 / 10 Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Malicious package detection, a package firewall extended to VS Code extensions (9 Sep 2026), pre-commit secrets and artifact signing; an AURI CI/CD Posture agent scores CI/CD and supply-chain security across a namespace, SCM org or repo. Source: Endor Labs: Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows (CI/CD Posture agent) · Read 12 Oct 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 5 / 10 Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Native AI SAST, SCA, container and secrets coverage; the SBOM Hub imports external SBOMs, but import of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: Endor Labs SBOM Hub · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 Plan names, the seat definition and a free local tier are published, and AURI Agents are free for Endor Labs customers; Core and Pro prices are not. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Tie |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Backslash Security | Endor Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills and applies policy at the moment of action. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented An MCP server installs into Cursor, Claude Code, VS Code with GitHub Copilot, Codex and Antigravity; secrets detection runs pre-commit. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Not documented Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented AI SAST traces dataflow across repositories and pull requests; AI Security Code Review agents flag design-level issues. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Partial SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Malicious package detection, a package firewall and artifact signing; Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions launched 9 September 2026. Source: Endor Labs: Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Not documented A prioritization method is not described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Reachability across dependencies, containers and first-party code. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Not documented No agent that writes fixes is described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented AURI Agents write SAST fixes or file exceptions, and SCA Remediation picks a non-breaking version, runs the build and opens the PR, behind approval gates. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do they cost?
Backslash Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.
Endor Labs
Not published Developer (free, no account, local only), Core and Pro are named; seats are contributors with commits in the last 90 days. Core and Pro prices are not published.
Source: Endor Labs pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: Free Developer tier that runs locally without an account.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Backslash Security | Endor Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Named | Not named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 4 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.
Choose Endor Labs if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Endor Labs: Reachability-first triage with an agent inventory.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or Endor Labs?
On our published weights Endor Labs scores higher overall, 7.60 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or Endor Labs?
Backslash Security scores higher on the agent governance group (8.6 to 7.6). Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Endor Labs: AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills and applies policy at the moment of action.
Do Backslash Security and Endor Labs publish prices?
Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. Endor Labs: Not published. Developer (free, no account, local only), Core and Pro are named; seats are contributors with commits in the last 90 days. Core and Pro prices are not published.