HEAD TO HEAD
Backslash Security or GitHub Advanced Security: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Backslash Security
Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills
Rank 10 of 10
GitHub Advanced Security
Fix path with stated validation, for repositories on GitHub
Rank 6 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Backslash Security | GitHub Advanced Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 10 / 10 Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 2 / 10 No central inventory of AI coding tools is described on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 9 / 10 Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 Built-in security checks apply to GitHub's own Copilot coding agent; no policy for third-party agents is described. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 5 / 10 SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Secret scanning with push protection, and a ruleset rule that blocks merges while secret alerts are open; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 2 / 10 No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Agentic autofix is generally available for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026): up to 25 findings fixed on a branch, validated and opened as a pull request, with fix patterns reused through Copilot Memory; Copilot Autofix is part of Code Security. Source: GitHub Changelog: agentic autofix for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 3 / 10 A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 6 / 10 Security overview and campaigns; no reachability or business-context scoring on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 5 / 10 Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Secret scanning with push protection, dependency review, and a ruleset rule in public preview that blocks merges while secret alerts are open. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 5 / 10 Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 CodeQL code scanning and dependency review, plus third-party extensibility: findings from other scanning tools can be centralized through SARIF upload; de-duplication across tools is not described. Source: GitHub Security plans · Read 11 Oct 2026 | GHAS |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 2 / 10 Names 1 of the six agents we track: GitHub Copilot. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Backslash |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Secret Protection at $19 and Code Security at $30 per active committer per month are published. Source: GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Backslash Security | GitHub Advanced Security |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partial The Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes; no controls for third-party agents on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not documented IDE-side checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Not documented Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Code scanning and dependency review on pull requests; AI Scan for pull requests in public preview. Source: GitHub Changelog: AI Scan no longer requires CodeQL default setup (16 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Partial SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Secret scanning with push protection, and a ruleset rule in public preview that blocks merges while secret scanning alerts are open. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Not documented A prioritization method is not described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partial Security overview and campaigns; no reachability or business-context scoring on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Not documented No agent that writes fixes is described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Agentic autofix is generally available for Code Quality findings: Copilot fixes on a branch, validates its changes and opens a pull request. Source: GitHub Changelog: agentic autofix for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Backslash Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.
GitHub Advanced Security
GitHub Secret Protection $19 per active committer per month; GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. Available to GitHub Team and Enterprise Cloud.
Source: GitHub Security plans · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: No free tier for private repositories on the pages reviewed; the Copilot coding agent's built-in security checks need no GHAS license.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Backslash Security | GitHub Advanced Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not named | Not named |
| Cursor | Named | Not named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Named | Not named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 1 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.
Choose GitHub Advanced Security if you need agentic remediation and pricing and trial transparency. GitHub Advanced Security: Fix path with stated validation, for repositories on GitHub.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or GitHub Advanced Security?
On our published weights GitHub Advanced Security scores higher overall, 6.35 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or GitHub Advanced Security?
Backslash Security scores higher on the agent governance group (8.6 to 3.8). Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. GitHub Advanced Security: The Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes; no controls for third-party agents on the pages reviewed.
Do Backslash Security and GitHub Advanced Security publish prices?
Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. GitHub Advanced Security: GitHub Secret Protection $19 per active committer per month; GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. Available to GitHub Team and Enterprise Cloud.