HEAD TO HEAD
Backslash Security or Legit Security: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Backslash Security
Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills
Rank 10 of 10
Legit Security
Agent governance and SDLC-wide policy in one ASPM platform
Rank 1 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Backslash Security | Legit Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 10 / 10 Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 VibeGuard runs on the developer endpoint and discovers agents, models, MCP servers and skills; the security team gets an inventory of skills, MCPs, models and agents and can flag off-standard tools. Source: Legit Security blog: what we learned building VibeGuard 2.0 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Tie |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 9 / 10 Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Command monitoring and blocking by custom or built-in policies, approve, block or flag decisions from a central management console, and anti-tampering that stops agents or users from disabling it; an audit log specific to VibeGuard is not stated on the pages reviewed. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release (re-read October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Backslash |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 5 / 10 SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 A secrets MCP backed by the OS keychain or environment variables scopes credentials to the session and keeps them out of history files and agent memory; VibeGuard also restricts agent access to files containing secrets. Source: Legit Security blog: what we learned building VibeGuard 2.0 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 2 / 10 No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Agentic Remediation fixes first-party SAST findings and dependency (SCA) vulnerabilities, re-scans before and after, then opens a pull request with the fix and vulnerability details; major-version code adaptations are flagged as AI-assessed in the PR. Source: Legit Security blog: Agentic Remediation now fixes dependencies · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 3 / 10 A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 Legit states its prioritization uses reachability and business criticality, and risk scoring weighs business criticality, compliance, GenAI use, APIs and internet exposure; remediation agents prioritize findings. Source: Legit Security press release, 18 June 2026 · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Legit |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 5 / 10 Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 Discovers SDLC systems and CI/CD pipelines and enforces "100's of policies"; secrets scanning reaches Git history, Jira, Confluence, Slack, build logs and personal GitHub accounts. Source: Legit Security: software supply chain security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 5 / 10 Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 10 / 10 Runs its own SAST, SCA and secrets detection, orchestrates existing scanners and de-duplicates their findings. Source: Legit Security: ASPM platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 5 / 10 Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Windsurf and OpenAI Codex. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Legit |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 No pricing page on Legit's own site; one AWS Marketplace list price is published ($60,000 for a 12-month contract, all modules and 24/7 support, 100 users). No free tier. Source: AWS Marketplace: Legit Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Tie |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Backslash Security | Legit Security |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented VibeGuard 2.0 discovers coding agents on the developer endpoint, blocks dangerous operations, monitors and enforces commands by custom or built-in policy, secures MCP use and resists tampering. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 press release · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented VibeGuard runs SAST and SCA scans inside the IDE and blocks secrets from being shared with AI systems. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Not documented Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented VibeGuard integrates with GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and CI/CD. Source: Legit Security: VibeGuard · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Partial SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described. Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Discovers SDLC systems and CI/CD pipelines and states it can "Enforce 100's of policies". Source: Legit Security: software supply chain security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Not documented A prioritization method is not described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Prioritization uses reachability and business criticality, with risk scoring on business criticality, compliance, GenAI use, APIs and internet exposure. Source: Legit Security press release, 18 June 2026 · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Fix | Not documented No agent that writes fixes is described. Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Agentic Remediation fixes SAST and SCA findings, re-scans and opens a pull request with the fix. Source: Legit Security blog: Agentic Remediation now fixes dependencies · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do they cost?
Backslash Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.
Legit Security
AWS Marketplace list price: Legit Security S/W Platform, All Modules and 24/7 Support, 100 users, $60,000 for a 12-month contract. No pricing page on Legit's own site.
Source: AWS Marketplace: Legit Security listing · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: No free tier or self-serve trial published; sold through demos and AWS Marketplace (SaaS).
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Backslash Security | Legit Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not named | Named |
| Cursor | Named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named* |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 5 of 6 |
* Codex: supported, per Legit (confirmed to the publisher in October 2026).
Which should you choose?
Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.
Choose Legit Security if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Legit Security: Agent governance and SDLC-wide policy in one ASPM platform.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or Legit Security?
On our published weights Legit Security scores higher overall, 8.80 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or Legit Security?
Legit Security scores higher on the agent governance group (9.2 to 8.6). Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Legit Security: VibeGuard 2.0 discovers coding agents on the developer endpoint, blocks dangerous operations, monitors and enforces commands by custom or built-in policy, secures MCP use and resists tampering.
Do Backslash Security and Legit Security publish prices?
Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. Legit Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Legit Security S/W Platform, All Modules and 24/7 Support, 100 users, $60,000 for a 12-month contract. No pricing page on Legit's own site.