Skip to content
Best Agentic AppSec logoBest Agentic AppSec

HEAD TO HEAD

Backslash Security or Snyk: agentic AppSec compared

Short answer

On our published weights Snyk scores higher overall, 7.15 to 4.90 out of 10. Backslash scores higher on Discovery and Policy and audit; Snyk scores higher on Secrets, Remediation, Triage, SDLC policy, Orchestration, Agent reach and Pricing. The right choice depends on which of those criteria matters most to you.

By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08

Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.

How do they compare at a glance?

Backslash Security

Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills

4.90 / 10

Rank 10 of 10

Backslash Security pipeline strip: documented at 2 of 6 control points, plus 1 partial.AgentDocumentedIDEDocumentedPull requestNot documentedPipelinePartialTriageNot documentedFixNot documented

Snyk

Widest named coding agent reach and a free start

7.15 / 10

Rank 5 of 10

Snyk pipeline strip: documented at 5 of 6 control points, plus 1 partial.AgentDocumentedIDEDocumentedPull requestDocumentedPipelineDocumentedTriageDocumentedFixPartial

Which scores higher on each criterion?

Backslash Security and Snyk: criterion scores (editorial assessment, 0 to 10)
CriterionWeightBackslash SecuritySnykHigher
Agent and MCP discovery10%
10 / 10

Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in running across enterprise endpoints.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools used by coding agents.

Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026

Backslash
Agent policy enforcement and audit10%
9 / 10

Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking before execution, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2; tamper resistance is not stated.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Evo can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity on an Enterprise subscription; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated.

Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026

Backslash
Secret handling for agents5%
5 / 10

SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through the AppGraph engine; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 Aug 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD.

Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026

Snyk
Agentic remediation20%
2 / 10

No agent that writes fixes is described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

5 / 10

A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI on 4 Aug 2026; validation and where fixes land are not stated.

Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026

Snyk
Agentic triage and prioritization15%
3 / 10

A prioritization method is not described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

9 / 10

Prioritizes with a Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends.

Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026

Snyk
SDLC policy and supply chain posture10%
5 / 10

Protection spans IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, with an MCP proxy; CI/CD posture is not described.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Dependency scanning is core and Snyk Secrets (generally available 4 Aug 2026) adds prevention gates across agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD; pipeline posture is not described.

Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026

Snyk
Scanner coverage and orchestration10%
5 / 10

Native SAST, SCA and secrets scanning through AppGraph; ingestion of other scanners' findings is not stated.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Broad native scanning (SAST, SCA, IaC, containers); ingesting other scanners' findings is not described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026

Snyk
Named coding agent reach10%
5 / 10

Names 3 of the six agents we track: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

8 / 10

Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, Windsurf, OpenAI Codex and Kiro.

Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026

Source: Snyk homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Snyk
Pricing and trial transparency10%
4 / 10

No public pricing page; AWS Marketplace lists an annual commit of $75,000 for 12 months. A free AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered, not a free tier.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

7 / 10

Free and Team (from $25 a month, up to 10 developers) are published with a public Enterprise credit rate, but coding agent security is Enterprise only.

Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026

Snyk

How do they differ along the pipeline?

Pipeline control points: Backslash Security and Snyk
Control pointBackslash SecuritySnyk
Agent

Documented

Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise).

Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026

IDE

Documented

Protection spans IDEs including Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot, with an MCP proxy.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

The Free plan includes IDE, CLI and source control integrations.

Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026

Pull request

Not documented

Pull request checks are not described on the pages reviewed.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

SAST, SCA, IaC and container scanning through source control integrations.

Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026

Pipeline

Partial

SAST, SCA and secrets through AppGraph; CI/CD posture not described.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 August 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, pull requests and CI/CD.

Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026

Triage

Not documented

A prioritization method is not described.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Documented

Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends.

Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026

Fix

Not documented

No agent that writes fixes is described.

Source: Backslash Security homepage · Read 11 Oct 2026

Partial

A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI and agentic development environments on 4 August 2026.

Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026

What do they cost?

Backslash Security

AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page.

Source: AWS Marketplace: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026

Free start: A free, read-only AI endpoint exposure assessment is offered; no free product tier is stated.

Snyk

Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.

Source: Snyk plans (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Free start: Free plan with IDE, CLI and source control integrations.

Which coding agents does each name?

Coding agents named on each vendor's pages
AgentBackslash SecuritySnyk
Claude CodeNot namedNamed
CursorNamedNamed
GitHub CopilotNamedNot named
WindsurfNamedNamed
OpenAI CodexNot namedNamed
KiroNot namedNamed
Total3 of 65 of 6

Which should you choose?

Choose Backslash Security if you need agent and mcp discovery and agent policy enforcement and audit. Backslash Security: Best for endpoint discovery of agents, MCP servers and skills.

Choose Snyk if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Snyk: Widest named coding agent reach and a free start.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for agentic AppSec, Backslash Security or Snyk?

On our published weights Snyk scores higher overall, 7.15 to 4.90 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.

Which governs coding agents more fully, Backslash Security or Snyk?

Backslash Security scores higher on the agent governance group (8.6 to 7.6). Backslash Security: Discovery, vetting, scoped policies and inline blocking for agents, MCP servers, skills and plug-ins on endpoints. Snyk: Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise).

Do Backslash Security and Snyk publish prices?

Backslash Security: AWS Marketplace list price: Backslash Vibe Coding Security Platform, annual commit, $75,000 for 12 months. No public pricing page. Snyk: Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.