HEAD TO HEAD
Endor Labs or GitHub Advanced Security: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
Endor Labs
Reachability-first triage with an agent inventory
Rank 3 of 10
GitHub Advanced Security
Fix path with stated validation, for repositories on GitHub
Rank 6 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | Endor Labs | GitHub Advanced Security | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 9 / 10 AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 2 / 10 No central inventory of AI coding tools is described on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 7 / 10 AURI applies policy at the moment of action, and AURI Agents put mutating actions behind approval gates; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 4 / 10 Built-in security checks apply to GitHub's own Copilot coding agent; no policy for third-party agents is described. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 6 / 10 Pre-commit secrets detection; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Secret scanning with push protection, and a ruleset rule that blocks merges while secret alerts are open; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 8 / 10 AURI Agents include AI SAST Remediation, which writes the fix or files the exception, and SCA Remediation, which picks a non-breaking version, runs the build and opens the PR; mutating actions sit behind approval gates and agents run on customer infrastructure. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Agentic autofix is generally available for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026): up to 25 findings fixed on a branch, validated and opened as a pull request, with fix patterns reused through Copilot Memory; Copilot Autofix is part of Code Security. Source: GitHub Changelog: agentic autofix for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 10 / 10 Reachability across dependencies, containers and first-party code is the core of the product. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 6 / 10 Security overview and campaigns; no reachability or business-context scoring on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Malicious package detection, a package firewall extended to VS Code extensions (9 Sep 2026), pre-commit secrets and artifact signing; an AURI CI/CD Posture agent scores CI/CD and supply-chain security across a namespace, SCM org or repo. Source: Endor Labs: Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows (CI/CD Posture agent) · Read 12 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 Secret scanning with push protection, dependency review, and a ruleset rule in public preview that blocks merges while secret alerts are open. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Tie |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 7 / 10 Native AI SAST, SCA, container and secrets coverage; the SBOM Hub imports external SBOMs, but import of other scanners' findings is not stated. Source: Endor Labs SBOM Hub · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 8 / 10 CodeQL code scanning and dependency review, plus third-party extensibility: findings from other scanning tools can be centralized through SARIF upload; de-duplication across tools is not described. Source: GitHub Security plans · Read 11 Oct 2026 | GHAS |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 7 / 10 Names 4 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 2 / 10 Names 1 of the six agents we track: GitHub Copilot. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Endor Labs |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 4 / 10 Plan names, the seat definition and a free local tier are published, and AURI Agents are free for Endor Labs customers; Core and Pro prices are not. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 9 / 10 Secret Protection at $19 and Code Security at $30 per active committer per month are published. Source: GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | Endor Labs | GitHub Advanced Security |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Documented AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills and applies policy at the moment of action. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial The Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes; no controls for third-party agents on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Documented An MCP server installs into Cursor, Claude Code, VS Code with GitHub Copilot, Codex and Antigravity; secrets detection runs pre-commit. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not documented IDE-side checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented AI SAST traces dataflow across repositories and pull requests; AI Security Code Review agents flag design-level issues. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Code scanning and dependency review on pull requests; AI Scan for pull requests in public preview. Source: GitHub Changelog: AI Scan no longer requires CodeQL default setup (16 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Malicious package detection, a package firewall and artifact signing; Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions launched 9 September 2026. Source: Endor Labs: Threat Center and Package Firewall for VS Code extensions · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Secret scanning with push protection, and a ruleset rule in public preview that blocks merges while secret scanning alerts are open. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Documented Reachability across dependencies, containers and first-party code. Source: Endor Labs homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial Security overview and campaigns; no reachability or business-context scoring on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Fix | Documented AURI Agents write SAST fixes or file exceptions, and SCA Remediation picks a non-breaking version, runs the build and opens the PR, behind approval gates. Source: Endor Labs: AURI agentic workflows · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Documented Agentic autofix is generally available for Code Quality findings: Copilot fixes on a branch, validates its changes and opens a pull request. Source: GitHub Changelog: agentic autofix for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
Endor Labs
Not published Developer (free, no account, local only), Core and Pro are named; seats are contributors with commits in the last 90 days. Core and Pro prices are not published.
Source: Endor Labs pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026
Free start: Free Developer tier that runs locally without an account.
GitHub Advanced Security
GitHub Secret Protection $19 per active committer per month; GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. Available to GitHub Team and Enterprise Cloud.
Source: GitHub Security plans · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: No free tier for private repositories on the pages reviewed; the Copilot coding agent's built-in security checks need no GHAS license.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | Endor Labs | GitHub Advanced Security |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Named | Not named |
| Cursor | Named | Not named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Not named |
| OpenAI Codex | Named | Not named |
| Kiro | Not named | Not named |
| Total | 4 of 6 | 1 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Endor Labs if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Endor Labs: Reachability-first triage with an agent inventory.
Choose GitHub Advanced Security if you need agentic remediation and pricing and trial transparency. GitHub Advanced Security: Fix path with stated validation, for repositories on GitHub.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, Endor Labs or GitHub Advanced Security?
On our published weights Endor Labs scores higher overall, 7.60 to 6.35 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, Endor Labs or GitHub Advanced Security?
Endor Labs scores higher on the agent governance group (7.6 to 3.8). Endor Labs: AURI inventories coding agents, models, MCP servers and skills and applies policy at the moment of action. GitHub Advanced Security: The Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes; no controls for third-party agents on the pages reviewed.
Do Endor Labs and GitHub Advanced Security publish prices?
Endor Labs: Not published. Developer (free, no account, local only), Core and Pro are named; seats are contributors with commits in the last 90 days. Core and Pro prices are not published. GitHub Advanced Security: GitHub Secret Protection $19 per active committer per month; GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. Available to GitHub Team and Enterprise Cloud.