HEAD TO HEAD
GitHub Advanced Security or Snyk: agentic AppSec compared
Short answer
By The Pipeline Desk · Best Agentic AppSec · Published 2026-10-08
Desk research from public vendor pages, changelogs and standards documents. Vendor facts read in September 2026, updated 2026-10-11. Editorial assessment; we did not run the products.
How do they compare at a glance?
GitHub Advanced Security
Fix path with stated validation, for repositories on GitHub
Rank 6 of 10
Snyk
Widest named coding agent reach and a free start
Rank 5 of 10
Which scores higher on each criterion?
| Criterion | Weight | GitHub Advanced Security | Snyk | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agent and MCP discovery | 10% | 2 / 10 No central inventory of AI coding tools is described on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools used by coding agents. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agent policy enforcement and audit | 10% | 4 / 10 Built-in security checks apply to GitHub's own Copilot coding agent; no policy for third-party agents is described. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Evo can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity on an Enterprise subscription; audit evidence and tamper resistance are not stated. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Secret handling for agents | 5% | 7 / 10 Secret scanning with push protection, and a ruleset rule that blocks merges while secret alerts are open; secret handling inside agent sessions is not described. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 Aug 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Agentic remediation | 20% | 9 / 10 Agentic autofix is generally available for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026): up to 25 findings fixed on a branch, validated and opened as a pull request, with fix patterns reused through Copilot Memory; Copilot Autofix is part of Code Security. Source: GitHub Changelog: agentic autofix for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 5 / 10 A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI on 4 Aug 2026; validation and where fixes land are not stated. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Agentic triage and prioritization | 15% | 6 / 10 Security overview and campaigns; no reachability or business-context scoring on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 9 / 10 Prioritizes with a Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends. Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Snyk |
| SDLC policy and supply chain posture | 10% | 8 / 10 Secret scanning with push protection, dependency review, and a ruleset rule in public preview that blocks merges while secret alerts are open. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Dependency scanning is core and Snyk Secrets (generally available 4 Aug 2026) adds prevention gates across agents, IDEs, PRs and CI/CD; pipeline posture is not described. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Scanner coverage and orchestration | 10% | 8 / 10 CodeQL code scanning and dependency review, plus third-party extensibility: findings from other scanning tools can be centralized through SARIF upload; de-duplication across tools is not described. Source: GitHub Security plans · Read 11 Oct 2026 | 7 / 10 Broad native scanning (SAST, SCA, IaC, containers); ingesting other scanners' findings is not described on the pages reviewed. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
| Named coding agent reach | 10% | 2 / 10 Names 1 of the six agents we track: GitHub Copilot. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 8 / 10 Names 5 of the six agents we track: Claude Code, Cursor, Windsurf, OpenAI Codex and Kiro. Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 Source: Snyk homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Snyk |
| Pricing and trial transparency | 10% | 9 / 10 Secret Protection at $19 and Code Security at $30 per active committer per month are published. Source: GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 7 / 10 Free and Team (from $25 a month, up to 10 developers) are published with a public Enterprise credit rate, but coding agent security is Enterprise only. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 | GHAS |
How do they differ along the pipeline?
| Control point | GitHub Advanced Security | Snyk |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | Partial The Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes; no controls for third-party agents on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Changelog: Copilot coding agent validates security and quality (28 Oct 2025) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise). Source: Snyk Evo Agentic Development Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| IDE | Not documented IDE-side checks are not described on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented The Free plan includes IDE, CLI and source control integrations. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pull request | Documented Code scanning and dependency review on pull requests; AI Scan for pull requests in public preview. Source: GitHub Changelog: AI Scan no longer requires CodeQL default setup (16 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented SAST, SCA, IaC and container scanning through source control integrations. Source: Snyk plans · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Pipeline | Documented Secret scanning with push protection, and a ruleset rule in public preview that blocks merges while secret scanning alerts are open. Source: GitHub Changelog: block pull requests with exposed secrets (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Snyk Secrets, generally available since 4 August 2026, adds prevention gates across coding agents, IDEs, pull requests and CI/CD. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Triage | Partial Security overview and campaigns; no reachability or business-context scoring on the pages reviewed. Source: GitHub Docs: about GitHub Advanced Security · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Documented Risk Score and reachability; the Risk Score weighs exploit reachability, exploit maturity, business impact, EPSS, CVSS, transitive depth and social trends. Source: Snyk: risk-based prioritization · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Fix | Documented Agentic autofix is generally available for Code Quality findings: Copilot fixes on a branch, validates its changes and opens a pull request. Source: GitHub Changelog: agentic autofix for Code Quality findings (9 Sep 2026) · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Partial A remediation agent entered public preview through the Snyk CLI and agentic development environments on 4 August 2026. Source: Snyk news: Evo Continuous Offensive Security and Snyk Secrets · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
What do they cost?
GitHub Advanced Security
GitHub Secret Protection $19 per active committer per month; GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. Available to GitHub Team and Enterprise Cloud.
Source: GitHub Security plans · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: No free tier for private repositories on the pages reviewed; the Copilot coding agent's built-in security checks need no GHAS license.
Snyk
Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.
Source: Snyk plans (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Free start: Free plan with IDE, CLI and source control integrations.
Which coding agents does each name?
| Agent | GitHub Advanced Security | Snyk |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not named | Named |
| Cursor | Not named | Named |
| GitHub Copilot | Named | Not named |
| Windsurf | Not named | Named |
| OpenAI Codex | Not named | Named |
| Kiro | Not named | Named |
| Total | 1 of 6 | 5 of 6 |
Which should you choose?
Choose GitHub Advanced Security if you need agentic remediation and pricing and trial transparency. GitHub Advanced Security: Fix path with stated validation, for repositories on GitHub.
Choose Snyk if you need agentic triage and prioritization and agent and mcp discovery. Snyk: Widest named coding agent reach and a free start.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for agentic AppSec, GitHub Advanced Security or Snyk?
On our published weights Snyk scores higher overall, 7.15 to 6.35 out of 10. See the criterion table above for where each scores higher.
Which governs coding agents more fully, GitHub Advanced Security or Snyk?
Snyk scores higher on the agent governance group (7.6 to 3.8). GitHub Advanced Security: The Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes; no controls for third-party agents on the pages reviewed. Snyk: Evo Agentic Development Security discovers MCP servers, skills and tools and can evaluate, steer or block risky agent activity (Enterprise).
Do GitHub Advanced Security and Snyk publish prices?
GitHub Advanced Security: GitHub Secret Protection $19 per active committer per month; GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. Available to GitHub Team and Enterprise Cloud. Snyk: Free $0 (SCA, SAST, IaC and container, IDE, CLI and SCM integrations). Team $25 a month. Enterprise credit based, 1 credit = $1; the rate card prices Evo ADS coding agent security at 1.0 credit per active machine per day.